top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Alya

Review: Understanding Your Child’s Development: For the Muslim Parent

While earning my teaching certificate in college, I read tons of research about childhood development. As a mom of two boys, I have read countless articles and books about milestones for babies and toddlers. As a Muslimah, I’ve read about Islam extensively. Until now, I’ve never read a book that did all three at once.


Topics in Understanding Your Child’s Development: For the Muslim Parent include developing thinking skills, facilitating intelligence, supporting speech and language development, promoting motor skills, nurturing healthy physical growth, fostering emotional development, and cultivating morality. This book includes the latest research that moms and dads want to know and includes the Islamic perspective on each and every topic. It includes helpful charts that show you milestones based on your child’s age. Of course, every child develops differently but it is still helpful to see what’s typical. What’s unique about the book is it includes the Islamic perspective for each topic and includes references from the Quran and the Hadith.


Each chapter gives suggestions of how to incorporate Islamic topics with your children—based on their age. As for me, I put the book into practice immediately. Zaki (my one year old) loves the new Islamic finger games that I read about in the book. I’m signing up Kyle for swim lessons this summer and am going to talk to him about how Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) went swimming with his companions.


All in all, this is a great book and I highly recommend it for all Muslim moms and dads.


Links to purchase the book:






188 views17 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page